You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

I am not sure that immortality is a good thing. I am reminded of a story in Greek mythology, one of the lesser goddesses, I think that it was the goddess of the Dawn who fell in love with a mere mortal and went to her father, I think that it was Helios, to grant her mortal lover immortality without thinking it all the way through and after years of love, she watched him shrivel up in to old age. Her sister Selene the goddess of the moon fell in love with her own handsome mortal and remembering her poor sister's outcome, asked for her father to grant him eternal youthful sleep. It worked out well for him, he dreamt of a beautiful lady with beautiful daughters, all of which was true to Selene's delight. So there you have it, always leave it to the Greeks to logically take a question such as the appeal of immortality and distill it to its logical conclusion.

Immortality is best left to the horror stories and mythology. I can't imagine having the intestinal fortitude for an immortal life, there aren't enough resources for the people that we have in this world already and to have the hubris to inflict my permanent consumption on others would be irresponsible at best and cruel at its worst. I am more than satisfied with my allotted time on this wonderful planet and I refuse to be greedy.

Powered by Plinky