The only explanatio­n that makes sense in the country’s leadership insane opposition to high speed rail is the death grip hold the oil industry has on the GOP leadership­. I have spent most of my summers visiting my family in France and I have driven from Paris to Bordeaux which is a 6 hour car ride. I have also taken the TGV from Paris to Bordeaux which is a 2 and 1/2 train ride. Say what you want against the European model but I admire the European’s commitment to future economic and environmen­tal plans that are more than just a commitment to re-electio­n. Their plans are often 5 or 10 year plans beyond any election cycles. It would serve us as a country much better if we had politician­s dedicated towards plannning for the future instead of re-electio­n.
Read the Article at HuffingtonPost

